How do I become a biological scientist?

Using a microscope

Most students studying biological sciences are enrolled in either the Bachelor of Science degree or the double degree of Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Science. In addition, there are many other single and double degrees in which you can include biological sciences as part of your degree program.

Degrees offered at Clayton

Single degrees

  • Bachelor of Science
  • Bachelor of Science Advanced with Honours
  • Bachelor of Science (Science Scholar Program)
  • Bachelor of Environmental Science

Double degrees

  • Bachelor of Aerospace Engineering/Bachelor of Science
  • Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Science
  • Bachelor of Commerce/Bachelor of Science
  • Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Computer Science
  • Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Education
  • Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Engineering
  • Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Laws

More Information

For further details on the possible double degrees and their requirements see the Monash University Undergraduate Handbook. The School of Biological Sciences offers students a choice of units leading to a double major (72 points = 12 units), a major (48 points = 8 units), or a minor sequence (24 points = 4 units) in the following areas: biology, ecology, environmental and conservation biology, genetics, marine and freshwater biology, molecular biology, plant sciences and zoology.